WFU Provost appoints committee to conduct search for college dean

Wake Forest University Provost William C. Gordon has appointed an 11-member committee to conduct a national search for a new dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Paul D. Escott, who has been dean of the College since 1995, announced in September that he was resigning effective June 30, 2004. He will remain as Reynolds Professor of History.

The committee, which held its initial meeting last week, is chaired by Richard Carmichael, professor and chair of mathematics. Members include university faculty and staff, as well as an undergraduate student representative.

Gordon commented that “based on input from virtually every department in the College, we have been able to assemble an exceptional search committee that represents a range of constituencies and disciplines. I have no doubt that this committee will provide us with an excellent candidate pool and with extremely valuable input as to the qualifications of those candidates. We expect to receive applications from across the country, as well as from our own campus.”

In addition to Carmichael, members include:

  • Anne Boyle, director of women’s studies and professor of English.
  • Herman Eure, professor and chair of biology.
  • George Graham, professor of philosophy.
  • Claire Hammond, professor of economics.
  • Jennifer M. Harris, a senior from Lawton, Okla.
  • Nina Lucas, associate professor of dance.
  • Minta McNally, assistant vice president for university advancement and director of alumni activities and volunteer programs.
  • Gordon Melson, dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences.
  • James Powell, associate professor of classical languages.
  • Jack Rejeski, Wake Forest Professor of Health and Exercise.

The provost expects to name the next dean by the end of the current academic year.

Categories: University Announcement