WFU panel to discuss military, diplomatic and humanitarian responses to terrorism Nov. 1

A Wake Forest University faculty panel will present, “Responding to Conflict: Military, Diplomatic and Humanitarian Approaches,” Nov. 1 at 8 p.m in Benson University Center’s Pugh Auditorium. The event is part of Wake Forest’s Year of Unity and Hope. It is free and open to the public.

Panelists will address how the United States and its allies are responding to the terrorist attacks of Sept. 11. They will also discuss possible alternative responses. The panel of Wake Forest faculty will include Michael Hughes, professor and chair of the history department; Nagesh Rao, assistant professor of English; and George K.Walker, professor of law. Hughes will speak about diplomatic relations and Rao will talk about humanitarian responses. Walker will speak about military responses to terrorism.

The Year of Unity and Hope is being organized by a group of student leaders. With university support, the students have created a series of educational events to help people understand the events of Sept. 11. Monthly forums that address topics relating to the terrorist attacks are a major component of the event series. Future forums will focus on the economic impact of the events of Sept. 11 and evaluate the media’s coverage of the situation.

A film series will also be offered. That schedule will be announced soon.

A theme year Web site is being created by students to offer information about events and a “Book of Days.” Brian Bell, a senior from Jackson Springs, is designing the site. It will feature a logo designed by senior Melissa McGhie of Miami, Fla. The “Book of Days” feature will allow people to submit their reflections, opinions and feelings to an online archive that will showcase one entry each day. Students, faculty, staff and alumni are invited to participate in this feature.

For more information about the theme year, call Mary Gerardy, assistant vice president for student life, at 336-758-5229. Gerardy is a member of the theme year committee.

Categories: Events, Speakers