Wake Forest Board of Trustees elects members, officers

In its March 21-22 meeting, the Wake Forest University Board of Trustees elected new trustees and its 2002-2003 officers.

William B. Greene Jr. of Elizabethton, Tenn., was re-elected board chairman. He is chairman of Bank of Tennessee and Carter County Bank. Murray C. Greason Jr. of Winston-Salem was re-elected as vice chairman. Greason is an attorney with Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice.

The following people were elected as first-time members of the board: James T. Williams Jr. of Greensboro, an attorney with Brooks Pierce McLendon Humphrey & Leonard; Lelia B. Farr of St. Louis, a former senior manager at PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP; Kenneth D. Miller of Greensboro, a partner in Long Miller & Associates; and Lloyd P. (Jock) Tate Jr. of Southern Pines, professor in the College of Veterinary Medicine at North Carolina State University.
Sean Prince, a Wake Forest junior from Norfolk, Va., was elected as a student trustee.

Former members re-elected to the board were: Jocelyn Burton of San Francisco, deputy chief of the civil division of the U.S. Attorney’s Office in San Francisco; Jerry H. Baker of Marietta, Ga., a partner in Baker Parker & Associates; Alice Kirby Horton of Hillsborough, manager of Pleasant Green Farm; J. Lanny Wadkins Jr. of Dallas, professional golfer; Dr. Kyle Allen Young of Greensboro, a physician; Albert R. Hunt of Washington, D.C., executive Washington editor of The Wall Street Journal; and Barbara Babcock Millhouse from New York City, president of Reynolda House, Museum of American Art.

Current board member L. Glenn Orr Jr. of Winston-Salem was re-elected to fill an uncompleted term. Orr is president of the Orr Group.

Hubert B. Humphrey of Greensboro was elected a life trustee. A former chairman of the Wake Forest trustees, Humphrey is an attorney with Brooks Pierce McLendon Humphrey & Leonard.

Categories: University Announcement