May 2009 Faculty Focus


  • Ken Robinson
    received funding from PTRP Holdings LLC for his proposal, “Historical Research Part of Archaeology Survey – Testing Phase, PTRP, Winston-Salem.”


  • Susan Fahrbach
    received funding from the National Science Foundation and the University of Illinois for her proposal, “FIBR: BeeSpace – An Interactive Environment for Analyzing Nature and Nurture in Societal Roles,” and from the National Science Foundation for her proposal, “Young Investigators Symposium at the Steroid Workshop.”
  • Clifford Zeyl
    received funding from the National Science Foundation for his proposals, “Evolutionary Advantage, Recombination and Adaptation in Experimental Yeast Populations” and “Mating Behavior in Allopatric and Sympatric Postzygotically Isolated Populations of the Model Saccharomyces Paradoxus.”

Classical Languages

  • Shawn Deeley
    spoke on “Ovid’s Homer” during the spring meeting of the North Carolina Classical Association hosted by Wake Forest.
  • Mary Pendergraft
    arranged a program during the spring meeting of the North Carolina Classical Association that was hosted by Wake Forest.
  • Robert Ulery
    presided over the annual meeting of the Classical Association of the Middle West and South at the University of Minneapolis. He organized the presidential panel, “Neo-Latin Literature and Our Heritage,” and delivered the presidential address, “De Senectute Studiorum: On Old Age and Antiquity,” at the banquet.


  • Peter Brunette
    has been invited to give a lecture on Antonioni in the Italian Studies Department at the University of California at Berkley.
  • Mary Dalton
    made a presentation, “Issues, Aesthetics, and Education: Educators in ‘Boston Public’ and ‘The Wire’,” at the Teachers, Teaching, and the Movies Conference at St. Mary’s College of California in Moraga, CA.
  • Ross Smith
    received the 2009 George Ziegelmueller Award from the National Debate Tournament. The award recognizes long-term career contributions to the national debate community. He joins Allan Louden, the 2000 recipient, and gives Wake Debate the distinction with Dartmouth and Kansas as the only schools with multiple winners of this achievement award.
  • Alessandra Beasley Von Burg
    received the Teaching Innovation Award from the Teaching and Learning Center for her Practices of Citizenship course. She presented strategies of this course as part of the roundtable discussions, “Pedagogical Innovations in Citizenship Educations,” at the Southern States Communication Association Conference in Norfolk, VA.

Computer Science

  • Todd Torgersen
    received funding from the Army Research Office and the Agiltron Corporation for his proposal, “Utilizing Computational Imaging for Laser Intensity Reduction at CCD Focal Planes.”


  • Claudia Kairoff
    presented a paper, “Anna Seward’s Elegy on Captain Cook (1780): The Hero as Man of Sentiment,” at the annual conference for the American Society for Eighteenth Century Studies in Richmond, VA.
  • William Moss
    presented a paper, “Again for the First Time: Turn and Return in the Poetry and Poetics of A.R. Ammons,” at the American Literature Association Symposium on American Poetry in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. He presented a paper, “Tom Paine Lite: Philip Freneau’s Robert Slender, Gentle Jacobin,” at the sixth biennial conference of the Society of Early Americanists in Hamilton, Bermuda.

Health and Exercise Science

  • Pat Nixon
    received funding from the National Institutes of Health and Wake Forest University Health Sciences for her proposal, “Prenatal Events – Postnatal Consequences.”


  • Candyce Leonard
    published a play review, “La niña tumbada/Little Girl Raped: Antonia Bueno’s Debut,” in Vol. 34 No. 1 of Cincinnati (2008) 3-4. She presented a paper, “Forgetting the American Dream in Playback and Underground by Miguel Gonzá lez Cruz,” and organized and chaired a session, “Contemporary Spanish Theatre in the 21st Century: Political Acts and Social Conscience,” at the annual meeting of the Northeast Modern Language Association at Boston University.


  • Jennifer Erway
    received funding from the National Science Foundation for her proposal, “Second Order Methods for Large-Scale Optimization in Compressed Sensing.”


  • Richard Heard
    received a silver medal and monetary award at the 2009 American Traditions Competition during the Savannah Music Festival.
  • Dan Locklair
    had choral works, “For Amber Waves” and “Brief Mass,” broadcast on WDAV. His “PHOENIX” for orchestra was broadcast and webcast over KBAQ radio in Arizona; “Thanksgiving” had a world premiere at St. Paul’s Episcopal Church in Winston-Salem; and “The Lilacs Bloomed” premiered in Brendle Recital Hall by the Wake Forest Concert Choir. The UNC-Greensboro percussion ensembles performed his “Diminishing Returns.”


  • Daniel Kim-Shapiro
    received funding from the Army Research Office for his proposal, “A Multifunctional Blood Substitute for Field Resuscitation of Polytrauma Combat Casualties with Brain Injury and Concomitant Hemorrhagic Shock.”

Political Science

  • Peter Siavelis
    published a paper, “Executive-Legislative Relations and Democracy in Latin America,” in “Latin American Democracy: Emerging Reality or Endangered Species” (Routledge, Spring 2009) 101-118. His recently co-edited book, “Pathways to Power: Political Recruitment and Candidate Selection in Latin America,” was featured on a panel, “Authors Meet Readers,” at the 67th annual meeting of the Midwest Political Science Association in Chicago.


  • Lynn Neal
    presented a paper, “The What and Why of Christian Romance Novels,” at a conference held at Princeton University on “Love as the Practice of Freedom?: Romance Fiction and American Culture.”

School of Medicine

  • Dean Assimos,
    urology, received the Distinguished Past Scholar Award from the American Urological Association Foundation for his accomplishments in advancing new discoveries and being a mentor of young physician-scientists.
  • Ronny Bell,
    Maya Angelou Center for Health Equity, has been selected as a founding member of the N.C. American Indian Health Board.
  • David Kelly,
    neurological surgery, received the 2009 Distinguished Practitioner Award at the annual meeting of the Southern Neurosurgical Society in Greensboro, GA.
  • Mark Knudson,
    family and community medicine, has been appointed associate dean for student services.

Categories: Faculty