Six Wake Forest students awarded Fulbright Scholarships

Open doors

Six Wake Forest students have been awarded Fulbright Scholarships to conduct research and teach English during the 2024-2025 academic year.  

The Fulbright U.S. Student Program is the U.S. government’s flagship international educational exchange program, offering research study and teaching opportunities in more than 160 countries. The Fulbright award is designed to facilitate cultural exchange and increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and those of other countries. 

Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in government, science, the arts, business, philanthropy, education, and athletics.

  • 41 Fulbright alumni have served as heads of state or government
  • 62 Fulbright alumni from 15 countries have been awarded the Nobel Prize
  • 89 Fulbright alumni have received Pulitzer Prizes

Wake Forest’s 2024 Fulbright Scholars

Research Fulbrights

  • Tahjanee Givens, (politics and international affairs and psychology) proposed to investigate culturally sensitive mental health care* 
  • John Hewlett West, (biochemistry and molecular biology) will investigate synthetic nitrogen fixation at the University of Freiburg, Germany

* Givens declined her Fulbright award to accept The National Institutes of Health Postbaccalaureate Intramural Research Training Award.

English Teaching Assistants

  • Anna Attal, (Spanish and sociology), will travel to Spain 
  • Zachary Bokhari, (psychology and German) will travel to Germany 
  • Emily Craig, (psychology), will travel to Spain
  • Abigail Eakle, (politics and international affairs, and history) will travel to South Korea

The Fulbright Scholarship application process is open to Wake Forest seniors, alumni and graduate and professional students. The Scholars Program supported more than 20 candidates through university nomination this year. 

Those interested in applying for a student Fulbright Scholarship should visit the Scholars Program website or reach out to the Faculty Director for Fulbright, Alyssa Howards.

For more information on the Fulbright Student Program, visit the Fulbright website.

Categories: Scholars