June 2010 Faculty Focus


  • Bill Conner
    received funding from the National Science Foundation for his proposal, “Acoustic Aposematism, Mimicry and Sonar Jamming in the Bat-Moth Arms Race.”


  • Peter Brunette
    was interviewed in New York by The Criterion Collection for a documentary to accompany their DVD release of Luchino Visconti’s 1954 film “Senso.”

Computer Science

  • Paul Pauca
    received funding from the Intelligence Advanced Research Projects Activity and Carnegie Mellon University for his proposal, “Challenging Ocular Image Recognition.”


  • Herman Preseren
    created a book of Wake Forest faculty who served during World War II. He was honored on his 97th birthday with a cake from fellow veteran Harold Wingert and his wife, Mary, who helped set up Student Health Services on the Reynolda Campus. Preseren is a professor emeritus, a retired U.S. Air Force Lt. Colonel and the last living member of his high school class. He continues to write for the Reserve Officers Association Newsletter. An article was written about him in the September 2001 Wake Forest Magazine.


  • Dan Locklair
    had his Toccata from “In Mystery and Wonder” performed at the dedication concerts for the pipe organ at Indiana University. His “Sonata da Chiesa” for flute and organ was performed at the Piccolo Spoleto Festival in Charleston, SC. He was inducted into the International Peace Autograph Project Exhibit of the International Museum of Peace and Solidarity in Samarkand, Uzbekistan.


  • Oana Jurchescu
    received funding from the Oak Ridge Associated Universities for her proposal, “Low-cost Organic Electronics: Let Molecules do the Work.”
  • Daniel Kim-Shapiro
    received funding from the National Institutes of Health for his proposal, “Effects of Nitric Oxide in Sickle Cell Blood.”


  • Lynn Neal
    co-edited “Religious Intolerance in America: A Documentary History” (University of North Carolina Press, May 2010).

School of Divinity

  • Gail O’Day
    has been named dean and professor of New Testament and Preaching.

School of Law


  • Cynthia Gendrich
    received funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities for her proposal, “Enduring Question: ‘Why Do People Laugh?’”

Z. Smith Reynolds Library

  • Dean Lynn Sutton (top center) announced the 2010 employee recognition winners shown in the photo as follows: Barry Davis, Unsung Hero Award (top left); Travis Manning, Dedicated Deacon Award (top right); Becky Whaples, Student Employee of the Year Award (bottom left); Linda Ziglar, Helping Hand Award (bottom center); and Heather Gillette, Employee of the Year Award (bottom right).

Categories: Faculty