WFU Provost appoints committee to search for new dean for Babcock School

Wake Forest University Provost William C. Gordon has appointed a committee to begin a national search for a new dean for the university’s Babcock Graduate School of Management. R. Charles Moyer, appointed dean in 1997, recently announced that he will step down next summer to return full-time to the Babcock School’s faculty.

The committee, which begins meeting Oct. 14, is chaired by Ken Middaugh, the Babcock School’s associate dean for management education. Members include university faculty, staff, students and alumni. Several are associated directly with the Babcock School.

“It is important to have a committee that is representative of the university and the broader communities that the new dean will serve,” Gordon said. “These individuals will bring the perspectives of the faculty, staff, students and alumni to their work. The expectations of all these constituencies are well represented on the search committee.”

In addition to Middaugh, members include:

  • Lazetta Braxton, full-time MBA student (Class of 2004).
  • Melissa Combes, director of development and alumni relations for the Babcock School and a 1997 graduate of the school.
  • Don Flow, president of Flow Automotive Companies and chairman of the Babcock School Board of Visitors. He is a 1983 graduate of the school.
  • Miles Foy, associate dean for academic affairs and professor in the School of Law.
  • Bill Hobbs, student in the Babcock School’s evening program in Charlotte (Class of 2003). He is senior vice president for structured credit products at Bank of America.
  • Nat Irvin, assistant dean for MBA student development and executive professor of future studies at the Babcock School.
  • Chet Miller, associate professor of organizational studies and director of the Babcock School’s Fast-Track Executive Program and Charlotte MBA (evening) Program.
  • John Moorhouse, Archie Carroll Professor of Economics at Wake Forest.
  • Michelle Roehm, assistant professor of marketing in the Babcock School.
  • Jack Wilkerson, dean and professor of accounting at the university’s Calloway School of Business and Accounting.

Middaugh said the committee’s objective is to have a new dean in place by the start of the 2003-2004 academic year.

Categories: Faculty, School of Business, University Announcement